FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Share photos of your Venus Fly Traps here.

Moderator: Matt

By Rosequartz
We bought a Venus's-flytrap from Home Depot when I got home I noticed that the heads weren't closing When you try to feed it or touch the hairs. I also noticed there's a few stems growing with little nubs in the end and not sure of those are new heads growing. I've been giving it distilled water and letting it sit on my window trying to nurse it back to health also I have noticed a few little brown spots and dark brown spots on my trap what should I do? I'm a complete newbie but I've been reading on certain things I should do I just want to provide a picture so someone can direct me in the right direction thank you
Attachments:
IMG_0470.JPG
IMG_0470.JPG (408.43 KiB) Viewed 1521 times
IMG_0467.JPG
IMG_0467.JPG (436.95 KiB) Viewed 1521 times
IMG_0471.JPG
IMG_0471.JPG (405.63 KiB) Viewed 1521 times
IMG_0473.JPG
IMG_0473.JPG (767.57 KiB) Viewed 1521 times
By boarderlib
Uusa is correct. It should be outside if possible, though not knowing your particular climate (where in the world you are) it's hard to give specific advice to it being outside, or acclimating it to the outside.

If outside is not an option which from the pics doesn't look like it is. Here's what you need to do. 1 do not leave it sitting in water. The lack of constantly moving air inside a home and constant wetness will invite rot, which spells no more fly trap. Find the absolute sunniest spot you can for your new plant. These plants are sun lovers. They love it, and want some more of it.

Be prepared these traps have lifecycles, a trap will die and a new one will grow to replace it. It's a pretty continuous cycle.

Sit back and enjoy.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
By riveraXVX