FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Purplegigget_76
Hi I am new to growing flytraps. I bought this one at a local walmart. It is in the plastic pot it came in and is in what looks to be a mix of peatmoss and sphagnum. When I first got it I made the mistake of over feeding it. It also dryed out for about a day. It has been an indoor plant. I do not think it was getting enough sun. My "traps" are turning black before they really even get to look like traps. But I have perfectly healthy looking smaller new traps. I am not sure how to get my pics loaded here or I would show a pic. I'm using my IPhone for this. Any suggestions? Please.
By thatonechick371
Id move it outside and give it some full sun. Is it sitting in water? Tge soil should be moist but not wet. Are you watering with distilled water?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
thatonechick371 liked this
By Purplegigget_76
Yes I am using distilled water. It is not sitting in water now because it is back inside and the "soil" is very moist. I just put in full sun today and it received plenty of sun and fresh rain water.
Thnk you in advance for any help.
By thatonechick371
From what ive seen, its bad to move it inside and back outside because of the quick temperature and humidity change. I would leave it outside, maybe partially shade it until the leaves stop dying and let it dry out just a bit before you water it again.

By Purplegigget_76