FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By backerrobert
Hi everybody. I am an student in South Africa and I love CP's, I have been growing them for almost three years and other plants for my whole life since I can remember, but I have read everything there is to read about these plants as well as others I have. I noticed a few things with the plants I have grown, this comes from my need to experiment (which is what I do with all my plants;)) and I would like to share this with you. The reason for this discussion is to address some basic physiological aspects of plants, and hopefully lead to a mind shift in terms of plant care. Now some of you might already know all of this, or even disagree with me, I am always open to correction:)

So if you're new to this game you are already completing the first part of my discussion! KNOW YOUR PLANT!! Most people go out, buy a plant and grow it like any other one in their home, or they look at the environment in the nursery and decide that’s the best!! WRONG!! All plants have unique physiological aspects with respect to growth rate and flowering, therefor water usage, humidity, sunlight and growing media differs... The best thing for a newbie to do is to go out and read all there is to read about the plant they intend on looking after. Know what the plant needs in order to flourish... I have had nurseries telling me to fertilise my VFT's, grow nepenthes in full sun and i ONCE HAD SOMEONE TELL ME IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO GROW CP's IN MY AREA (SEMI-DESERT PART OF S.A. Very hot and extremely dry). All of these statements I now know are completely false!!