FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By KC Simmons
So I planted a batch of d. nitidula gemmae one week ago tomorrow. I used sand/peat as mix (with more sand. I currently have the container in a tray (or larger plastic container) with water/pebbles, and loosely covered with saran wrap (air can still circulate. They have a LED bulb hanging about 6-7 inches over the container, that gets turned off at night (I was told they needed the dark photoperiod. There's also a heat pad under them, but I've noticed zero growth in the past week. Am I doing something wrong, or just being impatient? Due to the course sand, the redder ones are hard to see, but I do still see green ones... they just aren't doing anything. This is my first time dealing with gemmae and pygmy sundews, so any feedback is appreciated!
By bijillon
I didn't see growth on mine until two weeks and it was just a little green ball on the green ball.

Happy Growing,

Dillon
By fattytuna
Give them as much light as you would an adult plant. High humidity increases survival rate so the saran wrap is good. 'Germination' rate depends on how long they were on the adult plant and how mature they were when harvested
By Fishman
You mention the use of a heating pad. How warm are they getting? Mine do just fine in normal house temps, and grow rather fast. Mine stays around 65-70f. Do you have a pic to throw up so we can see? If they get too hot, they could very well slow down, and even try to go dormant. It may take a couple of weeks too, like the above poster said. Elevate the humidity and wait awhile, just dont get them real warm.
By KC Simmons
Thanks, everyone. It's been getting cool at night, lately (40s-50s) which is why I did the heating pad. I'll take pics and check temp today to get the status. I knew pygmies prefer cooler weather, but wasn't sure how that applied to gemmae.
By Fishman