FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By LuminousAphid
Hey everyone, I thought I would share some pics of my 2 month old (maybe a little older, I didn't write down when they germinated) D. capensis seedlings, and share some things that have worked well for me so far. I am not an expert, in fact I am firmly in beginner territory in this hobby, but I feel like things have been going well for me. I like the simplicity of growing these plants, not needing to worry about fertilizer and over/underwatering, and that I get to feed them!

This is a while after they germinated, too small to really feed

Now they were big enough that I could sprinkle a little high-protein fish food onto them- they seemed to like it and started growing quickly

I transplanted 5 good looking ones to a new pot with freshly rinsed and de-mucked peat mix

The ones still grouped up in the pot continue to grow, I will need to transplant them soon

This is what they look like today, they are getting big quickly

I have had a lot of apparent success using a high protein fish food I originally got for feeding fish--imagine that! It's Hikari "Food Sticks" which are pretty big, but they crumble easily into dust and smaller pieces, which seem to work really well for D. capensis and D. spathulata. I can't tell yet if D. binata likes it or not- the tentacles seem to be damaged where i put bigger pieces, so I'm just holding off for now.

Any advice concerning continuing care would be appreciated, I want to try producing these and growing them outside in the summer. I think I will be overrun with them quickly at this rate, but that's not a terrible problem to have- they are beautiful plants, whether they are the most common or not, I don't mind!
LuminousAphid liked this
By Tarzanus