FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss all micropropagation related topics here.

Moderator: Matt

By Steve_D
Matt wrote:I think I might have finally had success with an explant.
Does that look like callus to anyone else?
I'm no TC expert, but that looks promising and exciting, Matt.

At least it's doing something (other than dying like all mine did, from over-sterilization). Good work! I'm sure you're happy and proud. :)

Regarding Cupped Trap, I recently bought several dozen young Cupped Trap Venus Flytraps from tissue culturer David Conner in California. I normally don't like "freaks" that seem like they would not live well in the wild, but David sent me a sample Cupped Trap with another order (for Sawtooth) and it kind of charmed me. It's weird and a freak--no doubt about that--but it's kind of a lovable freak with really unusual and notable characteristics: the diamond shaped petioles, the long neck between petiole and trap, and of course that weird-looking fused-end trap itself.

Steve
By Matt
Steve_D wrote:I'm no TC expert, but that looks promising and exciting, Matt.
I agree Steve! I'm really excited to see what it will do over the next few weeks.
Steve_D wrote:Regarding Cupped Trap, I recently bought several dozen young Cupped Trap Venus Flytraps from tissue culturer David Conner in California. I normally don't like "freaks" that seem like they would not live well in the wild, but David sent me a sample Cupped Trap with another order (for Sawtooth) and it kind of charmed me. It's weird and a freak--no doubt about that--but it's kind of a lovable freak with really unusual and notable characteristics: the diamond shaped petioles, the long neck between petiole and trap, and of course that weird-looking fused-end trap itself.

Steve
I also got my plants from David Conner. He has been very successful with his tissue culturing. I hope to follow in his footsteps.