Welcome to the FlyTrapStore!

Akai Ryu

Akai Ryu
$14.95
Rate this product!
17 Review(s)

Availability: Out of stock

Customer Reviews 7 item(s)

11-17 of 17

Page:
  1. 1
  2. 2
I love my Venus fly trap
I got my Venus fly trap in the mail about a week ago. It is already growing new traps. I love my Venus fly trap and it is the very first one I have ever had.
Rate this product!
Review by Devin / (Posted on 6/1/2015)
Young Akai Ryu
Just got my young Akai Ryu today and it looks very healthy. Shipping was quick and arrived in great shape. It has some green coloration, but most of the traps are red.
Rate this product!
Review by Sean / (Posted on 8/1/2014)
Very large, nice red coloring plant, easily my favorite :D Worth the money and wait
I received my red dragon today and WOW is it beutiful and boy does it have big traps and color on the plant is so beutiful I find it hard to belive that anyone in this world would not like this plant. Were I live it is almost impossible to find this plant at local nurserys as were I live they have low giants, dente, typicals and other types of venus flytraps I even found a cross tooth at a plant nursery but no red dargons :( But since I found this site I now have a prized red dragon in my collection :) And if it even dares to grow one of those EVIL flowers when it is still coming out of dormancy I will cut off >:( but if it is a healthy fly trap than its okay :) because then I can grow little dragons :D I recommend this plant to anyone who can aford enough sunlight so it can maintain its red color. (sorry for some spelling mastaks i may have made :p)
Rate this product!
Review by Mattheus / (Posted on 7/18/2012)
Nice Red Dragon
Akai Ryu is the first red variety of the Venus Flytrap that I bought. For the first year, I originally kept it in a small 4" pot and it did okay; it grew new traps, but stayed about the same size as it had arrived (about the same size as what you see in stores). After the first year, I moved it into a much larger pot and it really exploded in growth - it produced new traps that were twice the size of the original ones! The traps are even larger than that of my "typical" green VFT.

Interestingly for me, Akai Ryu and Royal Red are the only red VFTs that I have which have not propagated another plant from the crown (Pink Venus, FTS Crimson Sawtooth, and Red Piranha have).

I keep my VFTs in 14" pots (with Sarracenia). They are on my southern facing deck, so they get plenty of unobstructed, direct sunlight.

I bought my Akai Ryu from Peter D'Amato @ California Carnivores (that was before I knew flytrapcare.com existed).
Rate this product!
Review by Walter / (Posted on 12/27/2011)
great plant
I purchased 3 Akai Ryu in mid May and they are doing great outside in my small bog. They were all healthy plants with nice dark red traps. Shipping was quick and they all arrived in great shape. They started growing new traps within the week.

Mine are in full sun so the color is still great.
Rate this product!
Review by patricia3 / (Posted on 7/7/2011)
Akai Ryu
Akai Ryu, when i first received it it had strong red color, as time passed, the strong red color went away, i'm guessing this plant needs a great amount of sunlight, which i can't supply completely. I would reccomend you buy this VFT if you know you can supply it with at least 5-6 hours of complete direct sunlight!

The Akai Ryu came in pefect conditions, and leaves are very very tall and very thin, is a pretty neat VFT if given the right amount of sunlight!
Rate this product!
Review by jht-union / (Posted on 6/28/2011)
Long, leggy dark colored leaves and nice trap color
I have one mature doing very well. It grows really long thin leaves with nice, dark
colored traps. It's not one of my favorites, but it looks a lot like the Maroon Monster
except the trap size is smaller.
Plant is sparse and leaves are spaced appart instead of clustered and can get
very long and "spidery" after growing a while.
Though not a favorite of mine, I am happy to have it in my collection.

And the service from FTS was great as always :)
(originally posted on 6/15/11)
Rate this product!
Review by Stanley / (Posted on 6/28/2011)

Write Your Own Review

You're reviewing: Akai Ryu

How do you rate this product? *

 
1 1 star
2 2 star
3 3 star
4 4 star
5 5 star
Rate this product!