FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By KenoshaKid47
Hi all,

I'm new to pitcher plants (and to this forum).

In the last week I noticed these small pests appear on the outside of the pitchers: Here is a photo:
IMG_6832.jpg
IMG_6832.jpg (1.78 MiB) Viewed 548 times
Does anyone know what they are, and the best way to treat the plant? For context, it is mainly an indoor plant on a sunny windowsill, but I put it outside for a few hours each morning.

Thanks in advance!
~Daniel
By Panman
First off, welcome to the forum.

Secondly, it looks like that is a North American pitcher plant. If it is, a sunny window will not be enough light for it. It will need at least 4 hours of unfiltered, direct light. A window filters some of the light. If you have to grow it indoors, it will need good artificial light for at least 12 hours a day. Moving the plant from one location to another actually stresses the plant and is counter productive.

Finally, those bugs are aphids. You can control them with Bioadvanced 3-in-1 mite and disease control.

You can also try washing them off with a good stream of water, but it looks like you may have too big of an infestation to do that.
By Barlapipas 6