FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss water requirements, "soil" (growing media) and suitable planting containers

Moderator: Matt

By David F
I'm completely new to this, I have one venus fly trap I bought at Lowes. I am not new to plants however, my collection of succulents loves sand and micro nutrients found in dissolved water, for this very reason I actually use tap water to water them, why are carniverous plants so sensitive to water, usually plants most sensitive to water are ones that intake, and output the most amount. When I recently transplanted the Venus I put it in compact moss and coconut fibers, the same ones I use in my tarantula cages, but when you run water through this, a ton of colored liquid comes out, it has been compacted when wet so most of this came out, but still why is it recommended? I saw the venus roots, they have no signs of development, it looks like it was grafted from a mother venus, then barely any roots are growing, is there a way to stimulate this growth. One more thing, the Parts per something measuring for water, is that completely neccesary, am I ok with going to the nearest natural spring and siphoning water from that to feed the plant?
By Matt
Welcome to FlytrapCare David F!
David F wrote:why are carniverous plants so sensitive to water
Carnivorous plants naturally grow in locations where the soil is devoid of minerals. Their roots aren't equipped to handle them and if they are exposed to them, it will burn the roots and kill the plant.
David F wrote:One more thing, the Parts per something measuring for water, is that completely neccesary, am I ok with going to the nearest natural spring and siphoning water from that to feed the plant?
Yes, measuring or knowing the PPM of dissolved solids is usually mandatory if you're using tap water or spring water. Both tap and spring water can have a lot of dissolved solids in them which will kill your plant.
By Grey