FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss water requirements, "soil" (growing media) and suitable planting containers

Moderator: Matt

By 999gia
Hello !

I'm a beginner in growing carnivores so this forum will be more than helpful.

Where I live we have 4 seasons , durning the summer we have over 86 F degrees so the AC stays on all day long .
On my condensation pipe I get water with 34 ppm so I was wondering : how safe is it to water my plants with it ?

I have some seeds of Drosera Capensis, D.Muscipula and D. Spatulata that I recently planted and plants - Nepenthes and D.Muscipula and I keep them all outside , on shade and moist soil .
By bananaman
I’ve never experimented with AC condensate (though it might be worthwhile to do so...).

To be safe, you should test its TDS first. If it’s low (ideally <50), then you’re probably fine using it to water your plants.
By Nightbreed
Using the ac water is fine I just always had a problem with slime mold on my ac.
By steve booth
It’s good to use, as it is essentially rain water (condensed from the air in the same way as rain). The TDS is increas3d only by the muck on the coil fins or condense collector.
Cheers
Steve
By Doublebass1985
I work on hvac units and it's not uncommon for evaporator/condenser coils to have leaks and then you will have oil from the refrigerant in your water and you don't want that. The refrigerant will just evaporate as soon as it hits atmospheric pressure but the oil will drain down the coil. Just a thought into maybe wanting to reconsider, but likely you won't have a leak in your coil it's just a possibility in the future.
By MikeB
How is the above post relevant to the OP's question?

Edit: The post in question has been deleted by the mods. This comment doesn't apply to Doublebass1985's post.
Last edited by MikeB on Thu Sep 02, 2021 5:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
By elaineo
MikeB wrote:How is the above post relevant to the OP's question?