FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Pinguicula care here

Moderator: Matt

By Bob Beer
Hi — I’ve been growing Mexican Pings for a few years, all under T5s. When I first started, I used the mix recommended in The Savage Garden: equal parts peat, perlite, pumice and sand. That worked quite well the first year, but I noticed that this past summer, a lot of plants emerged from winter phase with less color. Laueana x emarginata, formerly deep pink, was pale yellow with a pinkish edge, and moranensis Vera Paz, formerly almost “meaty” reddish brown, was pale with dark veins. Also some plants seemed to be in decline. I was getting a heavy growth of “nosehair moss” on my pots, and I also noticed that smaller plants I’d propagated were struggling with it. I first tried a mix with less peat, but it still mossed up pretty quickly. My most successful plants are those growing on actual pumice rocks.

So I decided to repot a few into an “all mineral” mix. I talked to different people and there are lots of variations...arcillite/zeolite (turface) and sand, arcillite/zeolite alone, pure arcillite/zeolite, pure vermiculite, vermiculite with a little crushed lava rock (not sure what kind exactly) etc.

I settled on equal parts pumice and arcillite/zeolite, with a smallish amount of vermiculite.

So far the plants I’ve put into it seem to pe pumping out roots nicely and really jumping, and one or two plants that I seems on the verge of losing look to be making a slow but steady comeback. Also the laueana x emarginata are pinker, though not as richly colored as before, yet.

I’d love to hear different people’s experiences!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
By KategoricalKarnivore