FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By kuurocats
Hi everyone!

I recent got some flytraps from a nusery since my MIL killed my first one by accident. I just wanted to make sure that they are in a decent condition, it's my first time dealing with dormancy (and I can be a fusser with my plants). I keep them in an open top terrarium outside where it's the sunniest on my balcony. My King Henry stays in it's own container since it's just too large. Any advice if you see something I could fix is always appreciated :D
Attachments:
20210114_141059.jpg
20210114_141059.jpg (2.88 MiB) Viewed 2657 times
20210114_141054.jpg
20210114_141054.jpg (3.98 MiB) Viewed 2657 times
20210114_141047.jpg
20210114_141047.jpg (3.72 MiB) Viewed 2657 times
By Panman
Overall, if they are dormant, I think they look okay. What soil are they potted in? The moss on top looks dry, how often do you water them and with what? Also, the first one looks like it may be planted too deeply. All that should be below the surface is the white part of the rhizome (where the leaves join together). I am not sure about the other ones. Maybe we can get an opinion from another set of eyes.
Benny, kuurocats liked this
By kuurocats
Panman wrote: Thu Jan 14, 2021 9:50 pm Overall, if they are dormant, I think they look okay. What soil are they potted in? The moss on top looks dry, how often do you water them and with what? Also, the first one looks like it may be planted too deeply. All that should be below the surface is the white part of the rhizome (where the leaves join together). I am not sure about the other ones. Maybe we can get an opinion from another set of eyes.