FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Announcements, as well as comments and suggestions about the FlytrapCare Forum itself. For all Forum members.

Moderator: Matt

By Dini
I currently have a Nepenthes pitcher plant, Venus fly trap, sundew and a sarracenia and I just want general tips on growing them outside like amount of direct sunlight? or watering, anything that would be useful for taking care of them hehe... I'm new to carnivorous plants. Thanks!
By sanguinearocks101
What USDA zone are you in? Do you know what species the sundew is? The Sarracenia and Venus flytrap and maybe the sundew depending on the species require a winter dormancy. I believe that the Nepenthes and sundew will be the hardest to acclimate, but for the Nepenthes I would definitely recommend going slow and steady, if all it’s old growth is killed by sunburn then it’s going to be hard for it to recover. For watering keep them moist, try your best to not let them dry out. For the sun I’d put the Sarr and Vft in bright direct sunlight and maybe the sundew and Nep in less bright sunlight.
Dini liked this
By MikeB
Dini wrote: Sat Dec 26, 2020 11:24 pmI live here in New Zealand
Okay, that narrows it down a lot. :D Can you give us a nearby city to check the local climate? What works on the North Island may not be doable on the South Island.
By MikeB
I went to Google and did a search on "climate auckland new zealand"
Auckland.jpg
Auckland.jpg (25.3 KiB) Viewed 7962 times
and another search on "climate wilmington north carolina" (in the heart of Venus flytrap country)
Wilmington.jpg
Wilmington.jpg (24.44 KiB) Viewed 7962 times