FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By dennisseda
Hello everyone!
As a preface: I live in a tropical country, and this is my first time winterizing my VFTs.

I still have a bit of time before actual winter season in the Northern Hemisphere, so I had been thinking of making a dormancy box for my plants out of an icebox and a thermoelectric cooling device (TEC) to more-or-less synchronize with the actual VFT growing season in the wild.

The main idea is to keep the plants in the icebox, with a light inside that should simulate sunlight, and the TEC to cool down the box. Sensors will be attached as well to monitor the temperature and humidity, and automatically cool down the box when it gets too warm or humid, and shut down when it gets too cold or dry.

What I was wondering about was:
  • Is a range of 6-10 degrees C (43-50F) in the box okay?
  • How bright is winter sunlight compared to summer?
  • Do I really need to keep the humidity in check as well?
Thanks in advance, ladies and gents!
By ChefDean
From my experience, 5°C would be ideal, up to 10°C would be fine.
Light isn't a big issue, I put mine in my windowless garage over winter and they're fine. If you do want a light, I'd say half strength, about eight hours a day.
Contrary to popular belief, Flytraps don't need high humidity. As long as the media stays moist, the humidity inside the box should be sufficient. However, in an enclosed environment like that, he more vigilant for mold and fungus.
dennisseda liked this
By MikeB
dennisseda wrote: Sat Nov 13, 2021 3:27 am I still have a bit of time before actual winter season in the Northern Hemisphere, so I had been thinking of making a dormancy box for my plants out of an icebox and a thermoelectric cooling device (TEC) to more-or-less synchronize with the actual VFT growing season in the wild.