FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By Engimal
Hey guys, outside of growing my carnivorous plants, I'm also a programmer. I was thinking of building myself a web application to track the growth, feedings, watering scheduling, etc. of my VFTs, but I figure that there may be a bigger audience for it.

So my question basically is, what features of tracking your plants would you guys find handy in a web-application? Requirements elicitation is very handy, and there's no better place than right here, so just let me know! :)

(PS, if this goes against any rules I don't know about, feel free to remove!)
By Sakaaaaa
Engimal wrote:Hey guys, outside of growing my carnivorous plants, I'm also a programmer. I was thinking of building myself a web application to track the growth, feedings, watering scheduling, etc. of my VFTs, but I figure that there may be a bigger audience for it.

So my question basically is, what features of tracking your plants would you guys find handy in a web-application? Requirements elicitation is very handy, and there's no better place than right here, so just let me know! :)

(PS, if this goes against any rules I don't know about, feel free to remove!)
Interesting. Why web application? Why not a smartphone app (I know it's a little harder)? Maybe a web app that can be accessed from phones? What about a "Problem Identifier" that takes problems (e.g. My VFT is growing mutations) and returns the answer ("It is stressed")? Maybe to make it easier you could make a searchable dropdown of common problems. What about a "trap timer" for checking if the plant is light-starved via how many seconds the trap takes to respond? Also if you could, include a TDS tester and a cultivar identifier (Takes photo) ;)

I've been thinking of making something like this but the only language I know is Python and I'm not too good at it.