FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By tommyr
The plant doesn't really need light during dormancy.
For VFTs, I drain off excess water from the pots, hit them with a sulphur based fungicide and place in zip lock bags and pop them in the fridge for 3-4 months. I occasionally check them (once a month) for fungus and hit with the fungicide if needed. Late winter around February/March I take them out hit them with sulphur based fungicide again and place in a south and west window until night time temps. regularly stay above freezing then slowly acclimate them to full outdoor Sun. I've been using this method for almost 10 years with no losses.
By Rah420
Thanks for your response! I can't really grow my plants outside because it gets too cold where I live. Last night I managed to find a way to keep the plant by the cool window and put an artificial light above it. I hope that setup will work out because I don't think I'll be able to find a fungicide anywhere right now. My fridge also has some problems with leaks on the inside so it's not a good option for me.
By idog24
Id really like to see the pictures you posted but theyre not appearing for me for some reason :cry:
By WormsAreGross
if the plant enters dormancy and kills itself (ifyouwill), how the heck is dormancy "skipped"??
By Fieldofscreams
It don't kill itself. It hoards all the energy in its bulb instead of producing leafs.

Some people skip it by keeping it inside under grow lights. Don't do that if you want it to survive for many years.
Fieldofscreams liked this
By PiranhaPlanter1
Matt wrote:
PocketPirate wrote:There's no way that's dormancy right??