FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Ken Tadashii
Anyone have any ideas what is happening to my D. Muscipula triton? I had this on november, it was doing well from then until now.
-The water is distilled and or from the rain.
-Full sun from 11am till 2pm ( i live in the philippines).
-it is always in the water tray.
But recently i began to notice that even the new growth is having dark spots.
Please help im a newbie on vft.
Attachments:
IMG_20230206_100653.jpg
IMG_20230206_100653.jpg (3.02 MiB) Viewed 1355 times
IMG_20230206_100702.jpg
IMG_20230206_100702.jpg (2.44 MiB) Viewed 1355 times
By Dan V
My best guess is that 3 hours is not enough sun, try for 6 hours.
Soil looks a little too wet, let the soil dry out a little bit between refills - some vfts don't like constant wet feet, but never let the soil totally dry out.
The metal pan could be causing a chemical burn, plastic is best.
Ken Tadashii liked this
By Ken Tadashii
I am using aluminum pan for this. Regarding with the sun exposure, it is very bright and hot here during those time of the day. And i always topped the pan with water.
By ChefDean
Ken Tadashii wrote: Mon Feb 06, 2023 1:19 pm I am using aluminum pan for this.
The acidic environment that these plants are in will strip metal ions from the metal pan and harm the plant over time. Aluminum and copper are generally regarded as the worst for many types of plants to get even a little too much of. Some carnivorous plants are very sensitive to too many minerals, others have a better tolerance. I would suggest switching to plastic trays, as it looks like your VFT has some mineral burn going on.
Ken Tadashii wrote:Regarding with the sun exposure, it is very bright and hot here during those time of the day.