FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Have excess seed? Share it with other members here.

Moderator: Matt

By frankgrimes087
I am requesting Dionaea muscipula "Wally" OP - 1 pkg.

I am new to growing flytraps from seeds and am currently in the process of growing some but would love the opportunity to grow the cultivator "Wally" from seed since it has always been one of my favorite cultivars. I have already been posting questions on the forums about seedlings and have been a member for quite some time.

Thank you!
By Panman
Remember, you cannot grow a flytrap cultivars from seed, even if it is selfed. There are no guarantees that it will carry identical genetics to the parent. The only way to do that is through vegetative propagation, that is leaf pullings, tissue culture, rhizome divisions, etc.
frankgrimes087, MaxVft liked this
By ChefDean
Order received.
Your order number is 0600.
I'll PM you shortly with a mailing address for your SASE.
Thank you for your order.

Reminder to all:
Please remember to write your Forum username and order number somewhere on the envelope or in a note.
I don't have access to a cross reference of real-world names linked to usernames.
Remembering these things helps me fill orders quicker.
Thank you.

Happy growing,
Dean
frankgrimes087 liked this
By MaxVft
frankgrimes087 wrote: Sat Sep 18, 2021 11:24 pm Thank you for reminding me of that Panman I appreciate that. If it would be better for me to just continue with the seeds I am currently growing and work with them for now that is not a problem.
The seedlings will not be identical to 'Wally' but if you are lucky a few of them should show the same traits as the mother plant.
By Panman
Agreed. And who knows, perhaps you will germinate a bigger and better Wally. Seed grown are definitely fun because you never know exactly what you will get.
frankgrimes087, MaxVft liked this
By frankgrimes087
MaxVft wrote: Sat Sep 18, 2021 11:30 pm