FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Sepzane
Pic: https://imgur.com/a/DQEkm6h

I'm sorry guys. I'm brand new to carnivorous plants. We had just bought our plants from a local seller on Sept. 13th. On the evening of Sept. 14th, we went out and bought some Betta fish flakes, and fed them to our sundew. Which was a bad idea, I now know. Because their previous owner kept them outside and so they were probably fed very recently.

It seems like the sundew isn't eating the flakes. I know it may be hard to tell from the picture, but the little dewy hands are holding on to the flakes, and the flakes do seem to be disintegrating. But now I'm getting worried because I've read that if you leave food on there for too long it will rot and ruin the leaves/plant. It's currently Sept. 16th, so it's been nearly two days since I tried to feed him.

Any help is appreciated. I swear that after this I will wait at least a month before trying to feed this poor guy again.
By CPhunter101
Sepzane wrote:On the evening of Sept. 14th, we went out and bought some Betta fish flakes, and fed them to our sundew.
I beleive that your drosera Adelae is stressed out from acclimating and the extra feeding it isn't helping.
Drosera Adelae is very sensitive to overfeeding, please don't feed it more than once a month.
For now, you should try to make your Adelae comfortable by properly acclimating it.
tommyr liked this
By Sepzane
Should I try to remove the food before it rots though? And if so, how? Tweezers don't work.