FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Share photos of your Venus Fly Traps here.

Moderator: Matt

By Sarrakitty
I currently have 3 varieties of flytraps, the three which seem to be the classic three newbie varieties. Typical, Dente and Red Dragon. This is my first year with them, though the second year of the bog garden they are in, I planted the Sarracenia you see in the background last year.
flytrap1.jpg
flytrap1.jpg (330.22 KiB) Viewed 2724 times
As you can see here there is plastic netting around the outside. I wish I didn't have to have that there but twice I came out to find torn up traps and the second time it was pretty bad and half of the RedDragon was ripped up. I'm pretty sure it was a squirrel and I later saw a squirrel lurking around it but unable to get in.
flytrap2.jpg
flytrap2.jpg (274.77 KiB) Viewed 2724 times
Fortunately without the interference of obnoxious rodents they are thriving again. I'm really enjoying these flytraps and they are doing very well since settling in! would like to find a way to repel the squirrels so I don't need netting which is kind of ugly.
By Panman
Very nice plants. Tree rats are a huge problem and, so far, no one has come up with an option other than cages or netting. I lost one plant to squirrels, not that it died (although I am sure it did), but I literally never found the plant. Another one took me 10 minutes to find in the yard. So this was my solution.
Attachments:
IMG_31072021_214821_(1200_x_700_pixel).jpg
IMG_31072021_214821_(1200_x_700_pixel).jpg (541.34 KiB) Viewed 2713 times
By MaxVft
Those plants look great, although the Red Dragon looks like it could use a bit more light :D
By MikeB
Sarrakitty wrote: Sun Aug 01, 2021 1:32 am would like to find a way to repel the squirrels so I don't need netting which is kind of ugly.