FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Nepenthes plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By XenOxygen
Hello everyone,

I have seen that in many photos, but I am looking forward to make a highland terrarium in wine cooler. I have found one, which is working on peltier device.
Few months ago, I was working in a laboratory and they were growing highland plants in the fridges with thermostat and it was working great.

What is the safest light source I can use in the fridge. I mean, just in case there will be cooler failture, lights start to overheat a lot and start a fire.

My second question is, is it worth it to make a nepenthes terrarium in a wine cooler? Because I havent found a lot of information about it.

Thanks!
By Apollyon
I am by no means an expert on creating highland chambers. That said, I would wager you would be looking for an LED panel. You probably don't want a light fixture with a bulky ballast, it takes up unnecessary space. I wouldn't necessarily say Yescom but something along those lines might suit your cause. That light is a thin panel, perhaps a half inch thick with a heat sink along the power cable. It makes it able to stay much cooler than my Mars Hydro, which has a thick metal ballast and projects a large amount of heat downwards from the bulbs. It is great for seed/seedlings but I wouldn't put my Nepenthes under them.