FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Propag8
Hi guys this is my first post so forgive me if this has been addressed before. I live in UK and have set up a small grow space in what is essentially a concrete shed with no windows as I have very limited space and indoors is taken up by orchids. My question is when my vft enter dormancy which I'm assuming they will do naturally in the unheated shed (please correct me if im wrong) what are lighting requirements time wise. How much light per day in hours would you recommend and should this be reduced gradually. I'm using a 300w cfl bulb 6500k about 4 inches away. I havent measured temperatures in the shed but im guessing they are only a couple of degrees above external temps if that. Thanks in advance im new to vft growing I'm currently propagating some b52 plants (well attempting anyway). I put them in full sun at every opportunity ( the mother plants not leaf pullings) but come on it's Britain lol. :)
By Panman
I would use the amount of time the sun is actually in the sky as your guide. If you are under 12 hours of light you might gradually cut back to 6. I grow mine outside so I just let mother nature handle it.
Propag8 liked this
By Propag8