FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss non-carnivorous plants here

Moderator: Matt

By _-SphagnumFromHell-_
Hello. I acquired a nepenthes a little while back and when potting it up I found a couple strands of live sphagnum in it! This was amazing for me, since I was trying to get my hands on some lately. So I took out a small container, put some dead sphagnum moss in the corner, and placed the live moss in and gave it a misting. I wasn't too sure if I should grow the moss I have in water or on media, so I put half of it in the dead moss and the other half by itself and gave it extra misting. Here's my setup. It seems to be growing well so I'm planning on keeping a log of it to track it's progress. I heard it grows fast so hopefully it will be cool to see it grow. Updates coming soon.

Picture taken on 6/21/18
IMG_0939[1].JPG
IMG_0939[1].JPG (2.32 MiB) Viewed 4730 times
By xr280xr
Cool! I'm no expert, but I always lay mine on a bed of something, either dead sphagnum or a thin layer of peat. Live sphagnum will also frequently pop up from dead sphagnum if you keep it wet and humid long enough.
By _-SphagnumFromHell-_
UPDATE #1

So far it's been 2 weeks and the moss is showing visible growth. I can see new shoots coming from the existing moss. However It looks a little spindly. I've watched a few videos about Sphagnum and have heard that it won't grow as dense when it gets lower levels of light. So I'm thinking of getting a good LED grow light for it eventually.

picture taken on 7/5/18
IMG_1132[1].JPG
IMG_1132[1].JPG (1.79 MiB) Viewed 4633 times
By riveraXVX