FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about terrariums, mini bogs, greenhouses and other growing environments

Moderator: Matt

By 1 Novice gardener
I am a beginner in the world of carnivorous plants. I have two newly purchased sundews. (cape and round which I am trying to save) I want to make a terrarium for them. I also want to germinate some cape sundew seeds in the terrarium. After some time I will keep the sundews outside the terrarium and keep new carnivorous plants in them (after some experience). I need helpbin making a terrarium and maintaining humidity,temperature, airflow and lighting in the terrarium. I have a old aquarium and would like to keep my plants separately potted inside the terrarium.
By mo_carnivore
Do you have The Savage Garden by Peter D'amato? It's a great introduction into the world of carnivorous plants. It also has a great section on terrariums. However, the short version is that you'll want to get a few grow lights, preferably T8 or T5HO, and fit them onto your aquarium hood. The lights usually come in the lengths of most aquariums, so this is already helpful. Then, if possible, connect the lights to a timer. For airflow, leave an inch of a gap between the hood and the aquarium rim. You don't really need a fan unless you want higher humidity and more airflow, but if you can get one, a small fan would probably be beneficial in a large aquarium. You won't need a heater or cooling system until you decide to grow plants like wooly sundews, Heliamphora, and some of the Nepenthes. If you want to get a jump start though, The Savage Garden mentions a great method of using an aquarium heater set to 80-90 degrees fahrenheit in a jar of water in the aquarium. This not only raises the temperature the humidity as well. Keep all of your plants in their own trays, or have one big deep tray, as long as the plants in there do not have conflicting water requirements.

Good luck on your terrarium!
By boarderlib