FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By luna
Hey all,

I'm a sort of tentative newbie, I guess, just checking this out. I likely won't get any CPs this year, as my living situation at the moment probably wouldn't work at all (small apartment in a state where we have frosts/snow from October until May, sometimes as early as September and as late as June). However, I'm applying to grad programs (PhDs in School Psychology) for next year, so my living situation may turn out to be more hospitable to CPs then. They are definitely something I'd like to get into, though, and I'm excited to be here!

As for me, I'm a college student in Montana. I'll be graduating this year (hopefully) with degrees in psychology and social work and am applying to grad school. I'm very into research (and recently got my first peer-reviewed publication), but ultimately want a more balanced or clinically lopsided career.

I'm interested in CPs because they seem very "different" from other plants--there's a lot to learn about them, and I'm eager to do so.
By dionaea muscipula
hello and welcome to the flytrapcare family you should get a nepenthes (tropical pitcher plant) your weather seems great for growing one inside a house!! hope to see you around
By Matt
Hello luna and welcome to flytrapcare!

You're in Montana, huh? That's awesome! I lived in Missoula for a year in 2006-2007. I loved it! That's where my wife is from and amazingly enough she's in the Clinical Psychology PhD program at the University of Montana. Crazy!

Congrats on your recent peer-review publication! That's great.

I hope that you're able to get into CPs soon. You're missing out! While you won't be able to grow them outside from October to May, temperate CPs will do well there from June through September. But you can always try some tropical or sub-tropical CPs in your windowsills!
By Veronis
Greets luna!