FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By danib
Hello!

I'm new to taking care of carnivorous plants and I currently have 1 Venus flytrap & 2 sundews. I leave my plants outside and I've had a problem the past few weeks where this squirrel keeps ripping them out of their pots. Every morning I'll wake up and see my poor plants on the ground, their pot empty, and dirt everywhere. Has this happened to anyone else? I thought this was so odd since they're not food. I feel like this would make more sense if I was growing tomatoes or something. Any advice on how to deter this crazy squirrel? Just last week I woke up and one of my sundews was completely GONE. The pot was empty and I couldn't find the plant anywhere. I was so upset especially because it was flowering :(
By Intheswamp
Unfortunately, you've either got to get rid of the squirrel (if that's what it is, which is a good possibility) or exclude the squirrel by enclosing the plants in a cage. A roll of hardware cloth (wire mesh) in 1" or smaller should exclude most squirrels. Personally I use 1/2" and 1/4" just because I had a good bit on hand. @Panman has the Squirrel Defense 5000 which is actually a tubular greenhouse that he got off of Amazon or eBay (I think) and enclosed it with 1" mesh chicken/poultry wire rather than clear plastic. It's a large structure, big enough to walk into. Very nice!