FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By frankgrimes087
pretty decent growth but unsure if the amount of black traps is normal?
pretty decent growth but unsure if the amount of black traps is normal?
35a0e4fd-851b-4796-b6d0-eb02b1e0c935.jpg (42.42 KiB) Viewed 2465 times
Hello all! This is my first post! I would like to start off by saying that I really do love this website and all the priceless information on it!

I am new to venus fly traps and have taken quite an interest in them I have done lots of reading.. There is priceless information all throughout the forms!

I ordered my saw tooth plant from flytrap store and have been VERY pleased with their products!

I am almost positive that my plant has sun burnt but just do not know to what degree. As you can see in the picture I have a decent amount of dead traps but also some nice green ones as well. Is this "sunburn" normal or possibly other problems? I of course use use only distilled water and i know they are getting plenty of sunlight because I live in Phoenix Arizona. I have found a couple of other people posts of people that live here as well.. also, i can give it plenty of shade.. The medium is flytrap store so you know its good! I have also been trying to get watering down,, I have read lots about it but venus flytraps are like a specific science lol... I am trying to water them every 3 days since its really hot out.. any suggestions? thank you reading!
By Lex
Vft usually have a bit of die back due to stress etc when posted. I'm envious! Wish I had a saw tooth as my first!

Welcome aboard :)

Sent from my VF695 using Tapatalk
By Matt
Welcome to the forums!

Looks like your Sawtooth got a little too hot and a bit too dry. When it's really hot, be sure to keep the soil a little more damp so that it doesn't dry out over the course of the day. We water our plants pretty much every day this time of year.