FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Kathleen13
I'm not an expert gardener, but it seems to me that most (if not *all*) types of plants go through a "dormancy" of some type, to one extent or another, in the fall and winter when they are growing in the wild in nature, but I've never heard about dormancy being such a huge issue for any other type of house plant (or any other kind of plant at all, really) before I got interested in VFTs. Is there something about them, or about carnivorous plants in general, that makes them more sensitive or vulnerable to "burning out" and dying young if they do not have distinct periods of dormancy?
By Kevonicus
Many other species like daylilies for example that live in temperate zones require a dormancy. It's just the way they have evolved to store energy during the winter. A VFT without dormancy I've heard tends to drop out the next growing season or two.

ALso, think about all the extra work a venus flytrap has to to just to get some food. It has to be "on edge" all the time ready to trigger! No wonder why they need some rest :lol:
Kevonicus liked this
By Kathleen13
That's a good point about the energy they have to expend to trap food; I hadn't thought of that. :) But that leads me to ask, well, supposing we never actually feed a flytrap which lives indoors and it doesn't catch any bugs on its own, but just lives on light and water...could that extend its lifespan if it doesn't get dormancy or if dormancy isn't done correctly?
By pieguy452
Kathleen13 wrote:That's a good point about the energy they have to expend to trap food; I hadn't thought of that. :) But that leads me to ask, well, supposing we never actually feed a flytrap which lives indoors and it doesn't catch any bugs on its own, but just lives on light and water...could that extend its lifespan if it doesn't get dormancy or if dormancy isn't done correctly?