FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By penatrap
Hello all

So I just saved 5 VFTs from my local Home Depot. They looked starved of light and not very healthy - but still very green, which was kind of expected since they were indoors. None of the traps worked either (they were kind of splayed apart) They were discounted to a dollar each so I just took every plant that was on the counter.

Anyway, at first I wanted to just put them outside and let them recover that way - until I realized that it was the end of the growing season now and it would put them into dormancy. A facebook user suggested I put them indoors, put a grow light over it and just grow them normally for the winter as they said putting them into dormancy in such a rough state could kill the plants.
What do you guys think? I honestly don't have grow lights as I've never tried growing CPs indoors before - the closest thing (I think) I have is this white LED panel that I currently have over my plants. It's probably not good enough but it's the best thing I have right now
Attachments:
IMG_1738.jpg
IMG_1738.jpg (79.99 KiB) Viewed 4229 times
71770442_1705061292962691_4641662192914006016_n.jpg
71770442_1705061292962691_4641662192914006016_n.jpg (54.58 KiB) Viewed 4229 times
By fluffy123
I think they may still go dormant if they get exposed to the cold and short days. Since they are in grow lights inside the house they may still grow and not go dormant.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
By optique
There is no way of telling if has skipped dormancy on the way to you. Plants that skip dormancy slowly run out of gas, dormant plants explode in growth in spring.
By salty
How do you keep your other plants over winter and what state/grow zone are you in?
By penatrap