FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Echo
Hi, all. I was given a sarracenia a couple weeks ago, and in that amount of time I've noticed large red spots spreading on the leaves. It's not just older leaves--it's now on younger pitchers too. Anybody have any clue what could cause this?
20180823_175922.jpg
20180823_175922.jpg (820.24 KiB) Viewed 5357 times
20180823_175915.jpg
20180823_175915.jpg (933.5 KiB) Viewed 5357 times
There's a dead brown spot in the middle of each red blotch. The plant is in full sun around 8 hours a day. It was in a greenhouse before it came to me--I have it on a water tray filled with distilled/rainwater for moisture and humidity (and yes!! watering with ONLY distilled water and pure rainwater.) I haven't filled the water tray it's sitting in much as we've had a good amount of rain, maybe low humidity is the problem? I'm new to sarracenia so any tips or pointers are appreciated!!
By KategoricalKarnivore
Looks like normal leaf damage to me. If it was on developing pitchers it would be something to worry about but it should be just fine.
By pastelgalaxy748
IVE BEEN GETTING THIS TOO but they're on my older pitchers, and my new ones seem just fine. i dont think its necessarily a disease, but maybe something to do with the sun exposure, but im not sure

i wouldnt worry too much :)
By Caramelmarkie
I would think of it as an insect damage. The damage looks very localized.

Here are some tips and points I had learned from plant pathology (In my own words... correct or add if I missed something):