FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Places to buy Venus Flytraps and other carnivorous plants.

Moderator: Matt

By RogerMcAllen
So I'm fairly new to the hobby (had a vft that did pretty well last year but I killed it trying to force dormancy) and ordered a pair of 3-5 year old plants from BugBitingPlants.com (http://www.bugbitingplants.com/venus_flytraps2.php) to replace it. They arrived with the bulbs wrapped in wet paper towel. Most of the traps were open, which I think is a good sign that it had a pretty gentle ride.

Pros:
Fast shipping (arrived in 3 days)
Quick to respond to email
Bulbs are nice and white, and there appears to be some good new white growth at the bottom of the roots
The plants seem to look about as good as I could expect having sat in a box for 4 days (partially my fault because it was sent back to the post office when I wasn't home)
The shipping charged was pretty close to the actually shipping cost ($7 charged, $5.49 actual postage).

Cons:
I never received a tracking number, and I was told that the plant would be shipping next week. I was caught unprepared when it arrived yesterday, so I wasn't home to receive it and had to pick it up today.

Overall I'd say I had a pretty decent experience.
Last edited by RogerMcAllen on Tue May 24, 2011 10:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
By Eric
Congrats on the new plants, I've never ordered from their before, but it looks like it came alright. :D
By lil_mike227
man your one of the lucky ones who ordered from bugbittingplants because i ordered three from there and one didnt even grow a single trap since i got it and only one made it out of dormacy..i never ordered from them again and i wasnt the only person dissapoited with them but ur plants came in good condition congrats. and happy growing :)
lil_mike227 liked this
By dantt99