FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss water requirements, "soil" (growing media) and suitable planting containers

Moderator: Matt

By Mattrex
I'm mixing a batch of soil for a terrarium that will house VFTs; the terrarium is about 24" long and 12" wide. I plan on putting six inches of soil in the terrarium to give plenty of room for root systems. At six inches deep, that will be 24x12x6=1,728 cubic inches of soil, and this includes the water mixed into the batch.

The soil is about 1:1 sphagnum peat moss to washed sand, maybe a little bit more peat than sand. I put about three gallons of distilled water into this mix. The soil is moist, clumpy, and easily handled, and has no visible standing water.

My question is this: Do I have approximately the right ratio of water to soil for a VFT? All of the instructions I've seen use vague terms, and since this is my first attempt at growing a VFT, I don't have a good idea how moist is too moist and how moist is not moist enough. I'd feel better having some kind of objective metric (one gallon of water per such-and-such volume of soil), if anyone has any to give. Thanks in advance.
By Slowbomb
I am sorry that I don't know the answer to this, but the advice given to me on these forums has been to not put flytraps in terrariums in general because of the high humidity. Maybe it would work if you kept the lid off to keep humidity down and allow fresh air in?

I am sure one of the more experienced growers will chime in!

Good luck though! I notice you're in Redmond? I am from Edmonds! Good to see another Washington grower!
By Grey
I see this is your first post: so welcome to our community! :D