FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By hungry carnivores
INTRODUCTION
Pygmy sundews are small, diminuitive sundews from the southwestern parts of Australia. They grow in a semitropical to temperate desert, and are known for the prominent stipules (hairs) that arise from their bud, as well as their notably large flowers. They are very easy plants to keep, and you can keep them even as an absolute beginner.

Species
Lots of species exist, but some notable ones are D. pygmaea (considered the typical species of this clade), D. scorpioides, an erect pygmy sundew that is perennial, and D. pulchella, which makes some of the largest flowers of any drosera, I have had my specimens' flowers be over a centimeter.

Soil requirements
There are no set ways to cultivate Pygmies, and soil is no exception. Plants I have received from CalCarn are sitting in water, waterlogged, in 100% peatmoss.

I use 1/2 peat, 1/2 aggregate, where aggregate can be anything including perlite, sand, aggrofoam, lava rock, or pumice.

Another popular mix is 1/3 perlite, 1/3 peat, 1/3 sand, which mimicks the soil they are found in naturally.

I find perlite topdressings, or sand topdressings, to help prevent moss, which can easily choke out the sundews. LFS (Long fiber sphagnum) is a no-no with pygmies, as it easily rots the spindly roots that pygmies use.

Basic anatomy
Pygmies have a bud on the top of the plant, where all new growth emerges, called the apical meristem. It is shielded by stipules which reflect sunlight, in my research, we presume it to prevent evaporation and dessication of the cells while they do not have much available water. The pygmy sundews produce gemmae (more on that later). They also have very fine tap roots that are fragile, so repotting pygmy sundews is a no-no, and if it must be done, it is a task that should be undertaken with a fair degree of precision.