FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Hayden
Ive been thinking of growing my own lfsm for a long time, and today after reading that in the past half decade 95% of Europes bogs have been torn up it made me feel like I could help in some way. For someone like me that enjoys a bit of overwatering from time to time, sphagnum seems brilliant for me! I just have a few questions.

1. Should it be compressed when potting

2. Is it easy to repot

3. Will it grow quick enough to house about 3 new plants a month?

4. Is it better in general? Why isnt everybody using lfsm?

5. Other than pings, will it work with any cp?

Thanks guys, im certainly interested in going peat free. Super sphag sounds good too, it would be cooler to my own potting mix and be 100% environmental friendly!
By HarrisAz
im not an expert.i have a few basin of Live sphagnum but im still not using it for my cp bcoz most cp needs full sun and that might kill the moss.im only selling some of them in small amount.

ok about number 2,let me be honest.when u use live sphagnum,its the same as u use Dried sphagnum moss only that LSM is live ones.its very hard to repot for me.the long sphagnum moss get stuck with the roots.and they look alike too.i broke 3-3strads of vft roots bcoz of i tot its tangling sphagnum.thats for a noob repotter like me.

LSM will work best with Heliamphora.they are water lovers and they hate hot sun.thats all.w8 till more advance expert to answer.

Thanks,
Harris
HarrisAz liked this
By Hayden
Thanks for the reply harris, from what youve said I think im now more interested in supersphag. If just one of us manages to find a perfect alternative, we can all use it and help save the bogs. Its a brilliant logo for shops too, to say theyre helping save our peat bogs.
By HarrisAz
your right!
By moof