FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By sioneee
Hi all!

So my plants just arrived today. I've got a "Bristle Tooth" (Dionaea muscipula) and a VFT "Big Mouth" (don't know the scientific name). They're a present for my girlfriend. She's been wanting to get into it all for awhile but has never got around to it. I've had a bit of a browse on the boards but couldn't really find an answer to my question, probably because I'm a noob and wasn't looking hard enough.

I live in Western Australia. It's pretty hot. As far as I know that's a good thing for these plants. We are however going into our winter and so I assume the plants are going dormant? Basically, I just wanted to know what I should be doing to keep these badboys happy in our climate over this time? Should I be leaving them out in the sun? Should I repot them? Should I be watering them a lot? So many questions. It'd be ideal if they didn't die before her birthday in two weeks.

I've attached a pic. And I must admit, the thought of keeping them for myself did cross my mind, but what kind of a boyfriend would that make me? :)

This is my first post so hello again and thanks in advance!
Sione
By sioneee
Didn't attach a pic though did I? Here we go!
Attachments:
photo.JPG
photo.JPG (152.67 KiB) Viewed 4305 times
By jamez
If your temps are around 20-50 degrees in the winter and your summer is no hotter than 100 degrees then they can be outside all year round. Yes give them direct sunlight (6+ hours). By looking at them now, the 'Big mouth' should be put in another pot and the "Bristletooth" looks as if it's too big for that pot. So yes you can repot them. The "Bristletooth" looks like it's 2 plants and the 'Big Mouth' looks like 4 or 5. Keep the soil moist not wet. If I were you, I'd give her the 'Big Mouth'.
By Matt
Hello and welcome Sione!