FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Nepenthes plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By PupChow
Hi guys, I am new to carnivorous plants and recently picked up a tropical pitcher plants marked as: Nepenthes Rafflesiana, however there seems to be even more sub-group within it, I am wondering if it is possible to have a better ID?

I also have a question regarding care; I mist the plant with distill water and made sure the root is not soaked in water, but I am seeing some dried edges on some leaves and one or two dried out pitchers. Should I be concern? Besides that it seems to be doing well.

By Eric
If you bought that at a Lowe's or Home Depot chances are that's a Nepenthes Miranda. My plants look exactly like that.
Eric liked this
By PupChow
Eric wrote:If you bought that at a Lowe's or Home Depot chances are that's a Nepenthes Miranda. My plants look exactly like that.
Thank you for the ID! In terms of their care, are they pretty similar? Anything in particular I should look out for?
By Eric
Very similaractually, Rafflesiana is a lowland species while N. Miranda is an intermediate hybrid. But Miranda does well in lowland conditions. Keep it humid and warm.
By snapperhead51
Pup chow