FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Amber
I am kind of new to this venus flytrap dormancy deal. I have owned one before but I think it "died" on me. I want to be sure to get this right, so when is the best time to put mine into dormancy? I live in north Georgia and it is November so again, when should I put it through dormancy?

Thanks,
Amber
By Matt
Hello Amber and welcome to FlytrapCare!

You don't really "put a VFT into dormancy". As Omar said, it's best to just leave your plant outside and let it go dormant naturally. When the days grow short, the temperature drops and leaves start falling off trees, that's when Venus flytraps start dying back too. It's a natural process and not something that you have to actively make your plant do.

Depending on where you are in northern Georgia, you might be able to leave your plant outside year round. If it freezes too hard where you live, you'll have to find a place to put it during dormancy. An unheated porch or a window in a garage or basement are good options.

Good luck and let us know what you decide to do!
By ModeratelyExcessive
Amber wrote:Thanks, I guess I will just leave it outside then...I just hope it will come back around...
Just want to add that you shouldn't leave it completely alone during dormancy. It still needs water, though not as often as in the growing season. Check the soil every few days and keep it moist.
By adamjoetan
Hi!!

I just bought my venus flytrap! Question is dormancy!!! I live in Singapore, so we do not have any winter here. However, in the months of DEC - FEB, it is the wet season and it is not so hot then. Could I just leave it by the window where it doesn't get affected by the rain but feels the change in temperature?