FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about anything related to Venus Flytraps, cultivars and named clones

Moderator: Matt

By carnivorous1123
what peat mix should i use and does anybody have a website and a link to the ready made peat? after almost killing my Sarr i would not like a repeat on my VFT thanks.
By heathenpriest
I know I'm in the minority, but I've been growing my VFTs in pure sphagnum peat moss for several years now, and it seems to be working fine.

I'll probably have to try a mix someday, just so I can do a side-by-side comparison and see if it actually makes a noticeable difference.
By Matt
heathenpriest wrote:I'll probably have to try a mix someday, just so I can do a side-by-side comparison and see if it actually makes a noticeable difference.
I've tried pure sphagnum, 50:50 peat and perlite and 50:30:20 peat to silica sand to perlite (my preferred mix). Pure sphagnum gave me the worst growth results (though the plants divided a lot). In 50:50 peat to perlite the plants grew well and divided a bit. In my (now) preferred mix, adopted from Steve, the plants grow very large, develop incredibly healthy root systems and divide less until they get large (if their pots are large enough to allow them to do so).
By heathenpriest
That's fascinating, Matt! And were these plants grown at the same time and in the same place, or were these observations made over several years?

I just happened upon 50 32 ounce styrofoam cups yesterday, and I have 20 identical small wastebaskets to use in my upcoming soil experiment. I'm hoping to get a good number of typical seeds, either from my own plants or from the store, so I can try lots of different things in identical circumstances.
By Linguist__
carnivorous1123 wrote:... does anybody have a website and a link to the ready made peat? ...