FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about terrariums, mini bogs, greenhouses and other growing environments

Moderator: Matt

By tommy_pace
so i read that terrariums are bad for VTFs. other than germination of vtfs is there something i can grow in my terrarium year round? like have few permanent plants in there? sorry if this is a stupid question..i am brand new to carnivorous plants, and to this forum! oh and btw...im tommy :) nice to meet u all
By Aging_Bourbon
Hello Tommy and welcome too Flytrapcare!
tommy_pace wrote:so i read that terrariums are bad for VTFs. other than germination of vtfs
Yes, you've read right.
tommy_pace wrote:is there something i can grow in my terrarium year round? like have few permanent plants in there?
Hmm I've really never grown anything in a terrarium before but I know a few Nepenthes and Heli can.
tommy_pace wrote:i am brand new to carnivorous plants, and to this forum!
Stick around tommy you got a lot too learn! :)

btw, if you have anymore questions feel free too ask! for other information on care please feel free too read around the main site and forum.

Allen,
Aging_Bourbon liked this
By tommy_pace
Thanks! this is a very neat site...and i have just discovered how much fun it is to grow carnivorous plants so i am totally wrapped up in it right now :)
and thanks for the answers!
By Veronis
Sundew (Drosera) are great terrarium carnivorous plants, especially for beginners. Asian pitcher plants (Nepenthes) are slightly more advanced and can be more difficult to grow well depending on how well you can control your temps, plus many nepenthes outgrow terrariums quickly. Sun pitchers (Heliamphora) are a step above nepenthes in terms of difficulty.

Mexican butterworts (pinguicula) also like higher humidity, but you have to drop that humidity to 50/60% during winter or they may rot. This may be a problem in a terrarium, as controlling exact humidity levels can be a daunting task.