FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Drosera, Byblis, and Drosophyllum plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Bluefire
Hello plant growers,

My tuberous sundews have been multiplying this growing season and now that they’re either dormant or getting there I’m wondering what to do with the extras. I would like to send some of them off to new homes.

How would I go about doing that? Trading? Selling? Giving to the seed bank? I have never done anything like this before (not very internet savvy) but the sundews seem intent to grow me out of house and home due to my inaction.

That was an exaggeration. I do not have that many, just enough to recognize that I don’t need that many. I also have some tiny Pinguicula from leaf pullings and am trying to create Ping hybrids (I am horrible at growing anything from seed though, so no surprises if nothing happens).

Anyone have any ideas?
By Sundews69
You could do a giveaway or make a sales thread (Or just give 'em to me :D )
By Bluefire
Sundews69 wrote: Sat Jul 02, 2022 10:26 pm You could do a giveaway or make a sales thread (Or just give 'em to me :D )
That’s a bit unfair, no?
Well, I have extra D. peltata (gunniana maybe?) and probably D. moorei and D. hookeri. I have extra small pullings from P. rotundiflora, agnata red leaf, and kondoi. I have bred my P. cyclosecta with P. moranensis alba x emarginata so we’ll see if anything happens.
Attachments:
Cyclosecta
Cyclosecta
7793627A-7A54-435E-B408-5697A53ECA6A.jpeg (1.18 MiB) Viewed 2007 times
Moranensis alba x emarginata
Moranensis alba x emarginata
0806548E-B696-457E-990F-8516555DAB5D.jpeg (297.64 KiB) Viewed 2007 times
By ChefDean
Speaking from a seed bank point of view, don't send them in to the seed bank.
Tuberous drosera seeds seem to hang around the bank for a long time, and the tubers will be much more perishable.
I would suggest you join a tuberous drosera FB page, you'll probably move them quickly there.
Sundews69 liked this