FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Say hello and tell everyone a bit about yourself.

Moderator: Matt

By Bluefire
Panman wrote: Thu Jun 30, 2022 6:59 pm
Bluefire wrote:Hello. I’m the lunatic who kills every Sarracenia purpurea they come across.
Purps are my favorite. I just recently added some new locations.
Looks like we’re opposites…
How do you grow your purps?
By Panman
Bluefire wrote:Looks like we’re opposites…
I'm in Atlanta, so it is hot and humid. They grow outside. My taller pots always sit in 1 inch of water. For the smaller pots, I refill the trays when they are empty. I think it is the humidity that they love.
By Bluefire
Hm. Well, the one I just got is sitting in water now so hopefully it makes it. I may well have underwatered the rest, I easily forget plants if they’re outdoors.
By Dragonslayer126
Bluefire wrote: Thu Jun 30, 2022 5:03 pm Hi there. I am new to social media/ forums and have no clue how these work, but figured I ought to join at least one in case I have questions about my plants and need to ask.

I mainly grow Nepenthes, though I have quite a few sundews (mom likes them too much) and butterworts. I’m interested in acquiring more Heliamohora and diversifying into every carnivorous plant genus that I can keep alive.

I’ve had some of my plants for years, others are more recent acquisitions. I enjoy drawing/ doing art of my plants as well as photographing them. I’m interested in raising plants to flowering age to create my own hybrids and want to be a botanist after I graduate college.
Hello I see you love nepenthes too. Nice Bical in the first picture.(I'm assuming it is) I had a growing environment for lowlands.
By Bluefire
Dragonslayer126 wrote: Fri Jul 01, 2022 1:15 am
Bluefire wrote: Thu Jun 30, 2022 5:03 pm Hi there. I am new to social media/ forums and have no clue how these work, but figured I ought to join at least one in case I have questions about my plants and need to ask.