FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Madzrellie
Hi there

My father gifted me Venus flytraps for my birthday a little over a month ago, and I’m a first timer raising the plant. Honestly, I’m pretty new to plants in general; I have almost no experience. I currently have 5 traps.
[For additional info, I do not know which seller he purchased them from. They came from Amazon]

That being said, a few days ago I had some sort of animal dig up and chew on a few of my plants. Two were pretty severely damaged from the attack.
I’m now finding strange grey rocks in my pots—along with smaller, white grains. I believe it was deposited by the animal as when I had potted them, I hadn’t ever seen them.
[From what I’ve read, the mixture I used had 10% sand, 60% peat moss, and 30% perlite. It is branded as carnivorous soil, listing itself as being non-treated]

I’m worried about minerals, should I repot all of them? Would further stress harm the chewed ones?
2FD23D7C-B7BD-42DE-95B1-C03D4CFFDA43.jpeg
2FD23D7C-B7BD-42DE-95B1-C03D4CFFDA43.jpeg (3.14 MiB) Viewed 1480 times
D1220630-3F59-4542-87E3-CDB95694F957.jpeg
D1220630-3F59-4542-87E3-CDB95694F957.jpeg (3.23 MiB) Viewed 1480 times
E8D9D9E2-96C1-4937-A541-DD9B32C1470E.jpeg
E8D9D9E2-96C1-4937-A541-DD9B32C1470E.jpeg (3.61 MiB) Viewed 1480 times
D93FB956-54E7-46AB-89EA-037F23F4BCBE.jpeg
D93FB956-54E7-46AB-89EA-037F23F4BCBE.jpeg (2.02 MiB) Viewed 1480 times
EBCDF192-76B6-4194-930E-331FA8D09BB5.jpeg
EBCDF192-76B6-4194-930E-331FA8D09BB5.jpeg (2.12 MiB) Viewed 1480 times
With my lack of experience, I find that I’m being very much of a worry wort. I now am suspecting the pots I’m using are not safe. I picked them up at Walmart, though it does not list what the material is made of. I can find similar-looking pots on their website, however, and those are listed as ceramic.