FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By StrongManPeen
So I repotted my B52 Venus flytrap yesterday for the first time in 4 years.

Please bear in mind that I’m not very experienced with this sort of stuff. Think of me as a “noob” when it comes to growing carnivores plants.

I started by carefully turning the pot upside down and breaking off clumps of soil from around the edges. The very top of the soil was annoying to break apart because it was so compacted from the 4 years of touching & pressing on it to see if it needed watering. But once I removed all the soil and exposed the rhizome, I noticed that for some reason, the top of it was at least 2 cm below the top of the soil. I know for a fact that I didn’t plant it that deep originally, so I’m not sure why it grew so far down overtime. I think that the deep rhizome and compacted soil is what caused the next thing I saw. My plant seemed to have 2 halves to its rhizome, it had a healthy looking (in my opinion) part with just some dead leaves still attached and an unhealthy yellowish brown part with no foliage growing out of it. It definitely looked like crown rot to me, and so I made a decision and tore it off of the heather part of the plant. It was not attached very well so it took very little strength to do. Roots came off with the rotting part of the rhizome and so though I knew it probably wouldn’t work, I planted the rotting part of the rhizome in a separate container to see if it would miraculously survive and start to grow. So back to the healthier plant, I cut off most of the dead stuff and put it in its new pot with about a 50/50 mix of pre moistened peat to perlite. I planted it so the top of the rhizome is just barely below the very surface of the soil (maybe 1 mm below) and watered it to settle the soil.