FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Ani
Hi everyone, I'm new to carniverous plants and I'd like some advice. I picked up a death cube VFT (without knowing they were referred to as that! :') ) on Sunday (05/08), and I've been following advice like acclimatizing to sunlight gradually and only using distilled water (I'm watering from the bottom), but I was wondering how soon I should repot the plant?

I have some carniveous plant soil (peat moss and perlite mix) and a plastic pot (4 in diameter and 5-6 in deep) ready, but I don't know how soon I should repot it? Should I be repotting it ASAP? Or should I wait a bit longer for the plant to get used to its current conditions first.

Also, this may seem like a very silly question, but for the tray at the bottom, for this bigger pot, I am just thinking of using a plastic lid from some take-out I ordered that is just the right kind of shape and depth. Because it is still plastic, is this safe to use as a tray for the pot to sit in?

I've attached pics of my little dude and the potential new setup when I repot him.

Any advice would be awesome.

Thank you so much!
Attachments:
IMG_20220512_164743509.jpg
IMG_20220512_164743509.jpg (3.19 MiB) Viewed 2236 times
IMG_20220512_164713898_HDR.jpg
IMG_20220512_164713898_HDR.jpg (2.72 MiB) Viewed 2236 times
By Ani
Also, one last question. After repotting, do I need to be careful about how much sunlight the plant gets? At present the plant is indoors and just getting sun by the window. Should I keep it that way after repotting while I continue to acclimatize it to getting some actual sun?
Thanks again!
By Shadowtski
I'm a Drosera guy, not a FlyTrap expert so I'll just point you to Matt's care and feeding pages here:
http://www.flytrapcare.com

(Matt is an expert as well as being the Admin of this Forum)

He does have a section on potting and repotting here: