FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about terrariums, mini bogs, greenhouses and other growing environments

Moderator: Matt

By dfsek
Hi! I'm about to start setting up my second carnivorous terrarium, I was looking for some advice and tips before setting it up.

I'm doing a tropical mid/highland terrarium setup, since where I live (Phoenix AZ) it's much too dry to keep anything outside, and I don't access to a greenhouse, or much space in general. (I'm a high school student :lol:) I also want the terrarium to be more of a "display terrarium" rather than a "collector's terrarium," I want it to look like a chunk of an environment (even though the plants in it would never be seen together in the wild!)

I've read about which plants do well in terrariums, and decided to attempt to keep the following:
  • Nepenthes
    • Various N. ventricosa hybrids (St gaya, Lady luck, etc)
    • N. tenuis
  • Drosera
    • D. capensis
    • D. multifida
    • D. madagascarensis
  • Various tropical Pinguicula species/hybrids
  • maaaaaybe a daughter plant of my Heliamphora minor x heterodoxa, if I'm able to keep the temps inside low enough (right now my heli is in its own little terrarium, acclimating after shipping. Just got it on Saturday!)
I've read in various places that these plants do well in terrariums. I currently have some Sarracenia and VFT's in a fishbowl, as I've read they don't do as well in terrariums.

Terrarium Setup

I purchased a 30'' long, 12'' deep, 18'' tall aquarium tank from a thrift shop. I'm a bit worried about the height interfering with lighting, but I believe i've found a solution, which I'll get to later.