FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discussions about fluorescent, LED and other types of grow lighting for Venus Flytraps and other plants

Moderator: Matt

By Mistydream12008
Hi everyone, im actually still pretty new to carnivorous plants but I got bit by the bug hard and ended up getting a few in a short amount of time. My Pings have been doing well for me but I wanted to ask about my others especially my VFT and Sarracenia Purpurea cause I know they need higher light than the others. Most say put them outside but I have so many critters out there that keep eating my outdoor plants I can just imagine if they saw these. I also live in a very HOT desert like place. Think 100s in summer. I bought them at Walter Anderson brought them home and took them out of their death cubes. Sarracenia was very green when I bought her and kinda crispy but has since gotten some red to her and no new crisp. Also what looks like a very red baby leaf coming in. The VFT had very long skinny leaves. She still has one that is turning black from where the pincher bug was sticking out of the trap and some juices seeped through. But the new leaves are chubbier and shorter. Is that a good thing? Cause I have no clue honestly. Sundew is always beautifully covered in dew and I love looking up at her from my bed to see her sparkle. Shes my most murderous and currently has 4 flies she caught. Sundew was also super green when I bought her. I have them under a Security light I modified and took the dome off of. Also used a clamp light to control the direction of the light. Its on a timer for 14hrs a day. All in individual tray methods with distilled water that I do let go down a bit before cleaning the tray and refilling again. I have pics of the light box itself. Its 4800 lumens, 40watts, 5000k. Idk if me modifying it changed the luminosity so I used an app to get the light in Lux as well. I hope this is ok for them. But if not I can always get another light...sor