FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss Sarracenia, Heliamphora, Darlingtonia, Cephalotus plant care here

Moderator: Matt

By Axys32
Hey all,

I'm relatively new to keeping Nepenthes and am looking for some help as to what might be going on with my plant / what I may be doing wrong. I ordered this plant and received it about 5 months ago. Unfortunately, I do not remember the exact species, though I will try to find it for you guys if needed. When I first received it, it seemed to go through typical shipping shock and it dropped its one pitcher shortly after arriving. Within a month a new pitcher had opened and after about another month a second pitcher opened. Both pitchers were happy and healthy and were around 3" tall. I had fed them occasional bugs that I would find running around the house hoping that this would help it put out traps more quickly since one trap per month seemed slow, especially when my friend's new Nepenthes was putting out traps at twice the rate of mine!

One day I came across a particularly juicy looking house centipede that I somewhat barbarically stripped of its legs and fed to the second pitcher thinking that this would be a great source of nutrients for the plant. (If you've ever seen one of these before, you know they're pretty meaty bugs.) In this case, the body of the centipede was around 1" long (about 1/3 the length of the pitcher.) I'm aware that carnivorous plants can be overfed; however, I suspected that this would be an acceptable size since it was still much smaller than the trap. Alas, after some time of digesting the centipede, that pitcher did begin to blacken as I've seen before when I'd grossly overfed previous plants.