FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By Royalfirefly
Hello everyone! I'm new to taking care of Venus fly traps and I've already burnt my plant.

I got mine at Lowe's earlier this week and immediately put it by my window. Now I realize I should have acclimated it first. I've since moved it to the shade and have only moved it back in the sun during dawn or dusk, but two days of doing this and it just looks worse.

The last photo is when I first noticed the burning on Thursday. The other two photos are from today. As you can see the traps are continuing to blacken and some of the stems too.

I've yet to give my plant any water or repot it. The soil feels damp so I don't think it needs to be watered. I think the main issue was too much sun.

Any advice on what I should do to save my plant is appreciated!
Attachments:
PXL_20211002_175501187.jpg
PXL_20211002_175501187.jpg (3.07 MiB) Viewed 2076 times
PXL_20211002_175452549.jpg
PXL_20211002_175452549.jpg (3.1 MiB) Viewed 2076 times
PXL_20210930_132945540.jpg
PXL_20210930_132945540.jpg (3.28 MiB) Viewed 2076 times
By Panman
I don't believe that is sunburn. It may just be older traps dieing off but the yellowing of the edges could be chemical burn. What is it potted in and what kind of water are you using? Also, that soil looks very dry. Lastly, the rhizome looks to be planted too deeply. If you can waffle it up some so where the leaves come off of the rhizome is just below the surface, that would be good. The good news is that it isn't a goner and whatever is wrong can be corrected.
By thepitchergrower
It could be burn from the wrong kind of water (correct water should be reverse osmosis, distilled, or rain water). It could also be going into dormancy
By Panman