FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Ask questions about how to grow and care for Venus Flytraps

Moderator: Matt

By frankgrimes087
Hey everyone, this is my first time trying to grow flytraps from seed, and I was wondering how long is it absolutely necessary to keep the plastic lid on my plastic container, and when would it be safe to permanently remove the lid?

I originally sowed about 30 seeds on 8/25/21 and they started to germinate on 9/6/21(maybe even a day or two earlier). I got about 10 seeds that started to germinate but a few fell through the sphagnum moss and a few others got mold on them. Currently there are 5 seeds that seem to be growing well. (I will attach a picture)

I have read through Matt's guide on how to grow flytraps from seed many times https://www.flytrapcare.com/growing-ven ... from-seed/ but would like to know if I would be safe to permanently remove the plastic lid on my container or would it be more wise to keep it on for a couple more weeks? Does keeping the lid on the container really just benefit keeping humidity in the container and germinating the seeds or is there another purpose?

I'm really not trying to germinate every single seed so that is why I am asking if I would be safe to permanently leave the plastic lid off. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks!
Attachments:
FTseedlings9-17-21.JPG
FTseedlings9-17-21.JPG (9.41 MiB) Viewed 2524 times
By Panman
I wait until they have formed their first set of real leaves with traps and then I acclimate them to the lower humidity.
frankgrimes087 liked this
By frankgrimes087
Panman wrote: Sat Sep 18, 2021 1:10 am I wait until they have formed their first set of real leaves with traps and then I acclimate them to the lower humidity.