FlytrapCare Carnivorous Plant Forums

Sponsored by FlytrapStore.com

Discuss any carnivorous plant that doesn't fit in the above categories here or general chat about carnivorous plants

Moderator: Matt

By Apollyon
Hey guys, I recently selfed my U. Nelumbifolia and noticed seed pods were forming. I have limited experience with utrics and was curious about a couple things if anyone has experience with this species.

How long does it usually take for pods to form? Mine are currently at around 2-3 weeks I would guess. Also, after harvesting what kind of shelf life could I expect if I were to put them in the refrigerator?

I was looking to store or sell the seed as I really don't have the space to grow any more of these, though it is a fun and vigorous plant. It was neat seeing such a large species flower. I am debating trying them outside here and seeing how they do. Thanks!
By Supercazzola
I think I read somewhere that the seeds do not survive more than a ten mile journey from where they were made, so you probably should just give them to me :-)
By ChefDean
Supercazzola wrote: Tue Aug 03, 2021 1:43 am I think I read somewhere that the seeds do not survive more than a ten mile journey from where they were made, so you probably should just give them to me :-)
I've heard something similar, but I think it was, oh, just shy of 800 miles.
Supercazzola liked this
By Apollyon
Supercazzola wrote:I think I read somewhere that the seeds do not survive more than a ten mile journey from where they were made, so you probably should just give them to me :-)
:lol: I was planning on messaging you when the time came. I wasn't sure I actually got it until I noticed a serious swell in one of the pods today. Seems like the pods vary greatly in size. The older flowers yielded much smaller ones
Supercazzola liked this
By twitcher